Home / News

02 Mar 2023

Luetzelschwab and Sosna win the time trial and are the new leaders

Alleman and Rabensteiner achieve their third consecutive victory and consolidate their leadership position

The fourth day of Andalucía Bike Race by GARMIN took the riders to Villafranca de Córdoba for the time trial stage. The first starts from the ramp have been at 10 am, while the Elite riders have taken the start from two hours later. Ahead, 31 kilometers of a constant up and down with the climbs to Los Rafaeles and 'La Risa' as highlights.

Irina Luetzelschwab and Katazina Sosna (Team Torpado BULLS Swiss) were the fastest in the women's category and set the best time from the first intermediate point. Both were able to maintain the pace throughout the day and ended up taking the stage victory and the lead in the general classification. "We finally managed to wear the leaders' jersey, which was our goal, and now we want to keep it until the end".

The leaders until today, Stefanie Dohrn and Lejla Njemcevic (Canyon Allebike), finished third in the stage and gave up the leaders' jersey by a minute and a half. Second in the stage were Janina Wüst and Txell Figueras (BUFF®-Megamo Team), who were the first leaders of the race. Although Sosna and Luetzelschwab have opened the gap, the overall classification is still very tight between the three pairs on the podium.

In the men's category, Wout Alleman and Fabian Rabensteiner (Wilier Pirelli Factory) continue to lead the race with an iron fist and have added their third consecutive victory, which consolidates them in the lead. "Today was an important day and we are very happy. The time trial stage is always a bit tricky, but we felt very strong again from the start and we were able to take another victory. Now it's time to control the race and take home the leaders' jersey".

The Wilier Pirelli Factory duo is already more than five minutes ahead of their immediate pursuers in the general classification, Francesco Failli and Riccardo Chiarini (Taddei Factory Team), who finished fifth in the stage against the clock. The podium of the stage was completed by Enrique Morcillo and Hugo Drechou (BUFF®-Megamo Team), with the second best time with their teammates José Dias and Hans Becking, third.

After the time trial stage in Villafranca de Córdoba, the race will travel tomorrow to Córdoba for the Skoda Super Stage, the longest stage of this edition with just over 92 kilometers. The route will be similar to the one experienced last year, but with some novelties. The race will start at La Canchuela and from there will begin a new section called 'La Cuesta del Hielo', recovered from the first editions of the race. Later on, the runners will pass by the Elephant Fountain, the Fangorn forest and the mythical climb of El Reventón.


Fabian Rabensteiner - Wout Alleman WILIER PIRELLI FACTORY 01:16:34

Enrique Morcillo – Hugo Drechou BUFF®-MEGAMO TEAM 01:17:26

José Dias – Hans Becking BUFF®-MEGAMO TEAM 01:17:34



Fabian Rabensteiner – Wout Alleman WILIER PIRELLI FACTORY 09:07:11

Francesco Failli – Riccardo Chiarini TADDEI FACTORY TEAM 09:12:30

Roberto Bou – Miguel Múñoz CANNONDALE VAS ARABAY 09:12:54



Katazina Sosna – Irina Luetzelschwab TEAM TORPADO BULLS SWISS 01:36:38

Txell Figueras – Janina Wüst BUFF®-MEGAMO TEAM 01:38:04

Lejla Njemcevic - Stefanie Dohrn CANYON ALLEBIKE 01:38:09



Katazina Sosna – Irina Luetzelschwab TEAM TORPADO BULLS SWISS 11:21:02

Lejla Njemcevic - Stefanie Dohrn CANYON ALLEBIKE 11:22:34

Txell Figueras – Janina Wüst BUFF®-MEGAMO TEAM 11:23:36






Official Media