Home / News

10 May 2021

The best lineup in the history of the Andalucía Bike Race by GARMIN 2021

This year’s edition will bring together the best names of today’s XCM

We all can’t wait any longer to put on a number and we noticed it in having the best riders in the world in XCM.

The next May 17th, Jaén will put together in the same bunch a double XCM European Champion and World Champion, also three-time winner of this race, Tiago Ferreira (DMT RACING TEAM BY MARCONI) in pairs with one of the most promising cyclists, Wout Alleman.

Another one that also knows the meaning of winning here, twice, is Alban Lakata (TEAM BULLS). The three-time XCM World Champion with lead the Team Bulls in their battle for the tittle.

Someone else that will also be fighting for that tittle, in this case to back-to-back, is Fabian Rabenstreiner (Trek Pirelli MTB Team). The Italian will pair with another experienced Italian cyclist, Michele Casagrande.

The lineup doesn’t end there, because in this edition of Andalucía Bike Race by GARMIN we will also be joined by the Olympic Champion from London 2012 and runner up in Rio 2016, Jaroslav Kulhavý (Ceska Sporitelna – Accolade Cycling Team). XCO World Champion in 2011, four silver medals in that same championship, as well as two bronze ones. In the continental scene, Kulhavý has been the XCO European Champion twice.

To round up this exclusive lineup, the actual UCI ranking leader in XMC didn’t want to miss the date either. Martin Stošek (Canyon Northwave MTB Team), third in the XCM World Championship last year, will team up with another myth of this discipline, Kristian Hynek. At 40 years old he carries two bronze medals in the World Championship (2012, 2016) and a silver one (2019), as well as a European Marathon Championship (2012) and two XCM National Czech Championships (2013, 2018).

And if that wasn’t enough, during this intense XCM week we’ll be joined by up to seven National Champions on this discipline. Two in the female category and five in the male one. Hans Becking, for The Netherlands; Samuele Porro, for Italy; Hildegunn Hovdenak, for Norway; Katazina Sosna, for Lithuania or Peter Pruus, for Estonia are some of them.

Many names will make this edition, a unique edition, different and special. And we are sure that the competition days will sure bring other names and surprises to the table.






Official Media